Book Review: Ask and it is Given by Esther and Jerry Hicks

IMG_9928

I have to admit this is the strangest book I have ever read and I’ve read some pretty odd ones in my time.

The premise of the book is that a man and his wife start meditating and she discovers that when she meditates, the act of clearing her mind actually allows for somebody (or more accurately something) to communicate with her. This ‘something’ is Abraham. But he’s not really a someone or a something. Lost yet?

Oh, now would probably be a good time to mention this is a non-fiction book.

OK, so that’s the background. Ready for things to get a little bit weirder? Obviously the books authors are Esther and Jerry Hicks. After all, it says so on the cover. But they’re not really. You see the book is actually written by Abraham who is communicating his/their/its (???) teachings to Esther and she is translating them and typing them to form this book.

Told you it was strange!

However, if you ignore the weirdness it is a pretty inspiring book. It’s based on the law of attraction – you get what you think about. So, if you spend your time thinking how unfair it is that you can’t afford a new car, for example, you’ll never get a new car. If, instead, you imagine yourself with your new car and get excited about it and frame it in your mind that that is your future and that is what the universe is going to give you, you will, in fact, get your new car.

I’ll admit I’ve been a bit of a Negative Nancy of late. I do try to be positive, but sometimes when things aren’t quite going the way you hoped they would it’s difficult not to become disappointed. I’m also chronically impatient, so if I want something I want it NOW and I get frustrated when that doesn’t happen. From that sense – and ignoring the Abraham aspect – this was the perfect book for me.

The first half of the book explains the law of attraction in more detail. Some of it made sense, some of it didn’t and some of it made me a bit angry. The book, or should I say Abraham, seems to think everything can be made better by positive thinking and let’s face it this is the real world. No amount of positive thinking is going to fix the messes we’re in at the moment. I know that’s a very negative thought, but seriously. Dreaming of rainbows and unicorns and getting crazy terrorists and incurable illnesses is only going to make you bitter. So, I would personally read it with a touch of scepticism. Scepticism but optimism at the same time if you get what I mean.

However, that’s not to say that you can’t pick up some positivity from this book. After all, how often do you label a day as ‘one of those days’ simply because you’ve spilled your coffee and been cut up by a BMW driver en-route to the office? By reframing the day and looking for the positives you could actually get more from your day rather than writing it off.

The second half of the book is all about ‘processes’ (think tasks) to channel the law of attraction. There’s everything from creating a box of inspirational cuttings from magazines, through positive thinking exercises and affirmations. The book makes suggestions on which task is best suited to your mood, although encourages you to  dip into the tasks as you feel drawn to them rather than in any particular order. I’ll admit I only started my first task this evening, a little before writing this review, so its impossible to tell whether they actually ‘work’ or not, but I can see some of them putting me in a more positive frame of mind which can only be a good thing.

Buy Ask and It Is Given – The Teachings of Abraham by Esther and Jerry Hicks here.

One thought on “Book Review: Ask and it is Given by Esther and Jerry Hicks

Leave a Reply

