Book Review: The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k

IMG_9874

If you ever watch the uber talented and super-funny Brummy Mummy of 2, you may know that she has coined her own little hashtag: ‘#youtubemademebuyit’. And that, my dear friends, is 100% true of this book.

For a while The Life Changing Art of Not Giving a F**k was everywhere! Cropping up in my Instagram feed, saying peek-a-boo in YouTubers monthly favourites videos, elbowing it’s way into blog posts. So with my desire to keep up with the Zoella’s and my new motto of ‘time is precious, waste it wisely’ I just had to buy this book.

I wanted to love it, I really did. After all, as well, as being a helpful self-help how to rid your life of unwanted people and obligations book, it was also a bit of a piss-take of the KonMari books. In fact, it frequently references the KonMari books, so it’s worth reading one of those (or at least understanding the KonMari concept) before starting this book.

One thing which I really struggled with was the amount of f-bombs in the book. Granted, I don’t swear an awful lot. In fact, my lack of swearing is often commented on. It’s not a conscious thing and I don’t have a problem with others swearing, it’s just that I don’t really feel the need to, unless I’m driving and then it’s an entirely different story. So, I wasn’t shocked by the amount of swearing in the book, it was more that the f-bomb was dropped so often it actually made the flow of the writing quite stop-start and I had to sift around the swearing to actually get to the point of a sentence. A bit like when you’re listening to a group of sweary teenage lads on the night bus and your brain has to take out the swear words so you can eavesdrop more effectively.

Also, although the advice is good, it’s not ground-breaking and, for me at least, I thought the exercises were a bit pointless. It did remind me that sometimes I do need to say ‘no’ to things I don’t want to do, no matter how obligated I feel. It also reminded me that I shouldn’t feel bad or guilty about that. And, it reminded me I should be spending my time doing what I enjoy, again not what I feel obligated to do – easier said than done when you’re a working mum but hey-ho!

So, an interesting read? Yeah, kinda. Life changing? Nope, not at all and if I were you… I’d waste my time more wisely…

Buy The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k by Sarah Knight at Amazon.co.uk

Leave a Reply

