#raiseyourhands for Raynauds Awareness Month

img_8877

Cold hands; warm heart

If I had a pound for every time I’ve heard that I would be a millionaire. A millionaire with cold hands (and feet) but wealthyย none-the-less.

I’m always the one tugging the sleeves down on my cardigan to keep my wrists and hands warm; slipping on my gloves at the slightest hint of chilly weather; getting criticism for poor body language as I fold my arms in an attempt to warm my hands up; and even, sitting on my hands to try to get the feeling back into them on particularly cold days.

img_8925

Raynauds is manageable for me. I was diagnosed with it during a doctors visit as a child.ย A trip to the GP about something else but my mother thought to ask about my hands which were often cold and would sometimes turn white or blue in response to low temperatures. In a matter of fact way the doctor explained that I likely had Raynaud’s, briefly explained what it was and that was that.

Fortunately, with a bit of forward planning, my Raynaud’s is manageable.

img_8904

I have varying gloves depending on the severity of the weather and what I have planned for that day. Thin leather gloves for driving and relatively mild days, gloves with touch screen functionality when I know I will be using my phone a lot, fingerless gloves with mitten fold-over bits for days where I need quick and easy access to my fingers and finally full-on dual layer skiing gloves for when I have to defrost the car.Oh and some wrist warmers for when it’s chilly but not quite glove weather, or to wear indoors when it’s cold but I need to type.

Don’t get me wrong. Raynaud’s can be inconvenient, truly annoying and very painful. There’s been a few times when I’ve slumped into my car in tears as my fingers are so sore from defrosting the windows on a freezing morning.There’s other times when a random finger will go white and numb making doing something everyday (like writing) almost impossible. Sometimes I struggle with what to wear, overheating on my torso because I’ve got to keep my cardigan on so that my wrists are covered to keep my hands warm. Then there’s those tender moments when you go to touch your loved ones and they recoil because your hands are absolutely bloomin’ freezing. I have hands for pastry; not passion it would seem and, yes, a very warm heart.

If you think you might have Raynaud’s you can take an online test and find out more here.

February is Raynaud’s Awareness Month.

 

2 thoughts on “#raiseyourhands for Raynauds Awareness Month

  1. Hannah McCall February 8, 2017 / 4:16 pm

    I love the thought that Raynaud’s sufferers have ‘hands for pastry’. We do have an advantage there!

    Like

    • sh February 9, 2017 / 8:17 pm

      Always looking for the positives. Although I have to admit, I rarely make pastry – I am very good at eating it! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

