Baby Change B*tches

 

This incident took place yesterday (23rd November 2015) at the baby changing facilities near to the Halifax at the Merry Hill centre and if you are one of the people involved I hope you woke up to a vile poonami this morning! Karma is a b*tch, but so, it would seem, are you! 

Knock-knock!

I’m mid nappy change so ignore the impatient tapping on the door to the baby change facilities.

Knock-knock!

Knock-knock!

There they are again!

“I’m changing  a nappy!” I yell as loud at the top of my voice, incredulous that another parent doesn’t understand that sometimes these things take a little longer than anticipated!

The knocks subside. I continue with the nappy change.

A few minutes later…

Knock-knock

Knock-knock

And then a voice “Are you OK in there?”

“YES!” Me and my mother yell back. Elliott looking at our now angered faces with curiosity and me, being me, adding:

‘PATIENCE IS A VIRTUE!’

All this shouted through a locked door whilst I’m wiping poo off my babies bum and trying to get to grips with the, currently stiff, clips of the harness on his pushchair. Other than that I’m not being particularly slow considering I have a wiggly five month old in front of me who like to grab at his nappy and pull his legs up to his chest mid-change making it a challenge to get a nappy off or on. There are LOADS of other changing facilities in the centre, so I don’t see what the urgency for this particular room is. Would these women do the same if I was taking too long in a cubicle in the women’s toilets?

I was so, so angry. As it was, it was a fairly standard nappy change. But imagine if it had been a poonami requiring a total outfit change? Or perhaps my baby had been sick? Or, as if often the case with boys, weed everywhere? How did they know I wasn’t a brand new mum struggling with nappy changes, life with a baby and on the edge of tears (I did see a new mum burst into tears mid-nappy change in Mothercare once!). How did they know the child I was changing didn’t have special needs? What gave them the right to act in this way?

Sure, they were asking if I was ‘OK’ but they didn’t mean it. Perhaps the first time, but then to continue knocking after I had yelled at them, just shows that this was a thinly veiled ‘Hurry up!’. Seriously ladies. It’s hard being a mum and I thought we were supposed to support each other? Not put pressure on each other to complete a nappy change in record time?

Fortunately the baby blues have long departed for me. But if anyone tries to stand in the way of my babies happiness and comfort – WATCH OUT! Me and mom both wondered aloud if it would be inappropriate to smear Elliott’s dirty nappy in the faces of the waiting women custard pie style.

As we exited, the woman standing there was all smiles.

“I didn’t know there was time limit.” I scowled.

“Well there was a queue” she said, smiling again all sweetness – to be fair it might not have been her who knocked.

“Right” I concluded before heading off.

Did they ever think there was a queue because everyone got there at the same time? Sit in a Starbucks for long enough and you will often see the place go from no queue to out of the door and back to ghost town empty in the space of half-an-hour. Sometimes people just arrive to the same place at the same time.

To be honest, even if the queue was caused by my slow nappy changing skills I don’t really care. I just worry that Elliott will grow up with the babies of these impolite mothers.

Anyone else experienced anything like this?

 

 

 

One thought on “Baby Change B*tches

Leave a Reply

