From Super Slummy to Yummy Mummy – Back to Basics

22013355130_e710b6bccf_o.jpgElliott being a zen yoga baby!

What’s that saying?

Oh yes!

You can’t polish a turd, but you can roll it in glitter.

Ah, yes, that one…

Not the first one that springs to mind when talking about a yummy mummy makeover perhaps? But one that I found quite apt once I’d pulled my list of 101 things to change about me together.

You see, I can slap on as much war paint as I like, paint my nails and coiff my hair. But unless what’s underneath is healthy, happy and a host of other things then it’s all kind of a waste of time.

I studied Psychology at A-level. It was hard and a very long time ago. But even now I remember back to some of the things we learned. Conditioning and Pavlov’s dogs has come in useful when I’ve been thinking about how to reward certain types of behaviour with Elliott (no, he doesn’t salivate at the sound of a bell – he salivates all the god darn time – he’s a teething baby!).

And, now I got to thinking about Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. How in order to attain self-actualisation (and who wouldn’t want that?) we need to build on a number of foundations. The first being physiological needs and including the need to…

  • Breathe
  • Eat
  • Drink water
  • Have sex
  • Sleep
  • Perform homeostasis (some fancy thing your blood does)
  • Poop

Pff! All every day common things that we take for granted right? Erm, not necessarily if you’re a new mum! If Elliott is having a meltdown I often find myself shallow breathing which only increases my anxiety. If I’m having a busy day and getting out of the door is the priority then I’ll often skip food and sometimes, shamefully, even a drink. When I do have a drink it tends to be coffee when it should be water. And as for the other requirements, well, let’s just say they all present their own unique challenges post baby. Apart from homeostasis – I’m not sure I can actually control that, which displeases my control freak nature!

So, whilst I’m not going to cease with the exterior makeover I am also going to try to work on the inside? How?

  • Downloading an app on my phone that chimes every hour to remind me to focus on my breath and doing more complete breathing meditations when I get chance
  • Planning out my meals for the following day to make sure I actually eat
  • Continually filling up my Starbies water cup to try to stay hydrated

I’m not going to go into detail regarding my strategies for the other list items if that’s OK with you? I’m fairly certain that no one wants to hear about the workings of my bowels or bedroom antics.

So, there, it turns out that when you’re a new mum it’s not just a case of slapping on a thick layer of foundation and heading out the door. It’s about taking care of yourself too. Sounds so obvious, but take it from one who knows its so easy to overlook!

One thought on “From Super Slummy to Yummy Mummy – Back to Basics

Leave a Reply

