Appreciating Every Moment

dscn7291_21925429220_o

Let’s admit it. Motherhood has its moments doesn’t it? Those moments when you’re covered in more bodily fluids than a Glastonbury portaloo, those moments when your baby is crying uncontrollably and you just don’t know why, those moments when you get woken up at 11pm, 1am, 3am, 5am and then you just give up and get up for the day. Yep, motherhood can be a mare and sometimes we’re all too quick to moan about it.

“Oh, he had me up twice last night, for no reason either…”

“Ugh! Her nappies are like something out of a horror movie at the moment.”

But, STOP! Imagine your life without that little bundle of joy. Imagine your day without their smiles when you tickle them. Imagine your day without their cuddles. Imagine your day without the soft touch of their fluffy hair and smooth skin. I don’t know about you, I may have only known Elliott for four brief months, but I can’t imagine life without him.

Something that has brought this home more than ever has been me learning of the sad deaths of two little tots, both in the past week. The first was only alive for 30 minutes before suffering his first cardiac arrest, followed by a round of fits and further arrests before sadly passing away. The second baby was just over a year old and again suffered fits before having a cardiac arrest and being pronounced brain-dead. So tragic.

I don’t know about you, but to me, that 3am stinky nappy doesn’t seem so bad now?

In fact, it made me give my Elliott popsicle extra big cuddles and appreciate every moment with him and how lucky we are to have him. Before I was pregnant I always tried to think of pregnancy as a science experiment – sometimes it worked; sometimes it didn’t – that was my way of preparing myself in case I suffered a miscarriage as so many friends before me had. So often pregnancy ends in tragedy. So often childbirth ends in tragedy. In essence anything can end in tragedy. And that’s all the more reason to take a moment not just to appreciate the little miracles that we’ve created but also to appreciate our family and friends and our own lives. Nothing brings home how grateful we should be for waking up each morning and having another 24-hours to spend however we wish – you’ll find me thanking my lucky stars and tickling Elliott’s tiny feet.

Leave a Reply

